PDA

View Full Version : You can call me Loris

LorisA
25-03-15, 12:54
I'm not huge on talking about myself a lot in person, but I find it's a lot easier to write it down and not see people's reactions when they read about it all.
I'm a Canadian Illustration student who was previously diagnosed with General Anxiety Disorder and IBS, but re-diagnosed with Social Anxiety Disorder and Depression. It started a few years back when my mother, who I always lived with just me and her, moved away and I lived with my father and sisters instead. My mother is an alcohol and it scares me when I can't take care of her. I don't like not being able to control things around me, it makes me feel helpless. I realized, after moving away for college, that there was more to my anxiety than just my mother because being around people and having people see me made me nervous. When I felt anxious I would avoid people and not go to class (I'm even doing that today) and then I'd become depressed as a result because I'd realize that I'm wasting my time just hiding away. It was then that I started reaching out for help. I have panic attacks more often now, nothing ever actually triggers them, except maybe high emotions. I have been receiving help through my school's Clinic and Counseling services, but it's hard to get through those times between appointments.
If you read through that block of text, you're a champ. Thanks for reading.

venusbluejeans
25-03-15, 12:59
Hiya LorisA and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

Davit
25-03-15, 15:05
Hello Loris