PDA

View Full Version : Sudden chest pain!

clank
02-10-12, 23:41
Hey guys. Today after lunch I got this stabbing pain in the right side of my chest, it feels like its in the rib cage. Its really scary and I have it all the time when running, but I usually think its just a cramp and don't worry about it. But then I got it randomly after eating lunch! It hurts when I inhale too much, and it hurts when I exhale too much. Like continue exhaling even though I have no more air. I am also 16 years old, I never smoked in my life before, and I am fit, as I run tons every day due to soccer. All help and advice is appreciated!

panic12
02-10-12, 23:47
Hi, I also exercise alot and have various pains like this, from what I have been told by my doctor and what I have read on here it sounds to me alot like trapped wind, although i'm no expert so if symptoms persist/get worse in the next couple of days then it cant hurt to see the doctor. I have had pains similar to this in my back/rib cage and chest. I have never smoked and always go to the gym/play football, and used to worry like crazy, doesn't sound like anything to seriously worry about.

Anxious_gal
02-10-12, 23:55
What kind of food did you eat? How long did the pain last?
Might be indigestion or trapped wind, trapped wind can cause a very sharp n sudden pain.
Doesn't always feel like wind.

clank
02-10-12, 23:58
I ate the schools crappy lunch which was a piece of pizza. I also have a little pain in my left side of the chest too, and it almost feels like my chest is tight. I don't have asthma either, well at least that is what I think. Not sure if the chest tightness is there, or its all in my head.

panic12
03-10-12, 00:01
If the tight chest came on when you started worrying about the chest pains it's probably caused by anxiety

clank
03-10-12, 00:06
If the tight chest came on when you started worrying about the chest pains it's probably caused by anxiety